7 Comments

Bombs Bursting in Air: A Dog’s Eye View

My first experience with fireworks was not a pleasant one. I really don’t know much about the 4th of July (That’s more in my mistresses department), but from what I see, it’s not a dog’s favorite holliday.

As I was looking out the front door towards evening I started hearing pops and bangs all over the place outside. Being the good, protective dog that I am, I start barking my head off to warn my people (I do that a lot) of some sort of danger out there and what do they do? They shut the door so I can’t see what’s going on, but I still hear all the dogs in the neighborhood doing the same thing (which they don’t do a lot, except the little white dog across the street who barks at anything).

more Harley 010

As the evening progress and it got darker outside I thought the worst was over and layed down at the foot of my mistresses chair for a nice nap to calm my nerves. Suddenly there was a really loud explosion. Being the brave and protective dog that I am, I tried to jump into my mistresses lap. That way what ever danger was coming our way would have to go thru me before it got to her (or so I told myself). After rudely pushing me down my mistress and master went outside and shut Skeeter and me in the house by ourselves. I’m thinking WWIII is upon us (because my mistress talks and writes about that all the time) as the explosions keep coming. (It seems they set off these “fireworks” just down the street from us in this town)

I’m now thinking (sense I have been deserted by my people during war time) I need to find the safest place I know. Sence I am to big to fit under the bed (like Skeeter can) I head for my kennel and who is in there already but Skeeter. Being irritated at first because she usually hides under the bed at any sign of danger (not in MY kennel), I deside to let her stay and try to comfort the poor old thing who is shaking like a leaf.

CVI Christmas and more 012

After all the explosions stopped my people came back in the house. I was thankful to see no blood or limbs missing. They were both safe and sound and home again. What more could any dog wish for and never being too upset that I can’t eat, my mistress gave me a nice dog cookie, but I have to say, the 4th of July in not my favorite holliday.

Your friend, Harley

About Kathy

I am semi retired and had lots of free time on my hands. I still work part time as a bookkeeper at the little hardware store in our small town but I still had free time to fill so I became a blogger here at The Harley Factor. I also am a compulsive beader so I started a beading blog to show off my bead work call Compulsive Beading. As I have gotten older and mostly wiser I have become very opinionated on a lot of subjects and will share them with you from time to time when I can't keep my mouth shut. Kathy Sinclair

7 comments on “Bombs Bursting in Air: A Dog’s Eye View

  1. I like this post – except, I DO like July the 4th – because it’s my birthday (sorry ’bout that Harley & Skeeter) 🙂

  2. Well Harley I can tell you right now. I would hope to have you by my side during WW3 if rockets are going off.. Lol I can see that you are very protective

    • You bet I am. Besides I can’t fit under the bed, but come to think of it, neither can my mistress.

      • Harley Just so U know as I write this. I am actually finally putting content on the website. Hopefully by tomorrow everything will be ready to go… Exciting times and dont forget to put up ur best articles. I cannot wait..

      • That’s exciting Joe, can’t wait to see it. Email me the web address so I can check it out. I’ll be thinking of some good articles. I’m sure it will be a success.

Leave a Reply

