2 Comments

Social Security is an Entitlement

I know that most people seem to get offended when Social Security is lumped in with what is known as “Entitlements”. To my way of thinking (as a dog belonging to a senior citizen) this is one of the true “real entitlements”. Workers pay into this from the start of their working lives to the end of it. Of course they would be entitled to get it back. That was the whole purpose of it in the first place, so why would they be offended by this term?

To my way of thinking, again, the offence comes from the fact that all government pay out programs are lumped into this term of “entitlement”, but are they all really entitlements? NO, I don’t think so. Things like food stamps, welfare payments, housing subsidies, or any subsidy for that matter are not real entitlements. I would term them as social charity. These things are consumed by people who don’t work all their lives to receive the benefits of them. To fund these programs workers, again, have to pay into the government for them, but most workers do not receive benefit from these “so called” entitlements. In my mind, that’s the difference.

Don’t get me wrong, I am all for helping people who truly need assistance, but the government of this country has gone way overboard in determining who does really need it. I believe that giving people too much reduces their desire to earn their own way and they are being crippled by so much charity.

Your friend, Harley                                    not offended

About Kathy

I am semi retired and had lots of free time on my hands. I had always thought there must be some way to really make money on line, but I just never had the time to investigate it until the last year or so. I decided to get some professional help in that area and it has paid off. My husband has a Harley and I really enjoy riding along with him. We belong to a motorcycle club and enjoy the rides with others who love it too. I didn’t become a “Motorcycle Mama” until I was 60, but I have come to love all that’s involved. That’s when I thought: Why not make money at something I really like and develop a website to sell those things? So I did with http://lovetheride.net Besides, my husband wants to retire before his bike is paid for and I would like to help him along in that goal. I hope you will help by visiting my site and following this blog. Kathy Sinclair

2 comments on “Social Security is an Entitlement

  1. Harley I think you nailed it on the head. I am glad you wrote about this since it makes alot of sense. Whats wrong with those who actually worked and earned compare to those who just want to something for nothing. Great job on this, Just so you know I am hoping the website will be running in one or two month. I will keep you update on it. Like I said I would like for you to write something especially what you wrote today. This article made alot of sense.

    • Thanks Joe, I’m glad you agree. I have more to write on this subject in the days to come. Glad your web site is coming along. I look forward to contributing.

Leave a Reply

