3 Comments

The Start of Republicans

You may have never wondered how the republican party came into being, but it’s pretty interesting history. They came out of the Wig party in the 1850’s. One Senator from the Wig party almost gave up his life when he was almost beaten to death by another Senator of the Wig party right on the Senate floor because he was standing up for what he believed in, that there should be no slavery in the US. Politicians with integrity and commitment got together after that and stared the Republican party. I learned all this today because my mistress was listening to Glenn Beck (again!)

This story made me compare (in my dog mind) what is going on now in the Republican Party with the old guard versus the new Tea Party conservatives. Can we expect something similar in the future? I’m getting as fanatical as my mistress on politics these days. Maybe I’m watching too much TV.

The following link is the Glenn Beck story about this which he told during a park clean up in DC. I hope there hadn’t been too many dogs in that park recently. Probably not if they didn’t even want WWII vets in there.  http://www.glennbeck.com/2013/10/12/we-have-to-be-the-people-who-show-the-new-way-glenn-joins-tea-party-leaders-in-effort-to-clean-up-d-c-monuments/

Your friend, Harley

About Kathy

I am semi retired and had lots of free time on my hands. I still work part time as a bookkeeper at the little hardware store in our small town but I still had free time to fill so I became a blogger here at The Harley Factor. I also am a compulsive beader so I started a beading blog to show off my bead work call Compulsive Beading. As I have gotten older and mostly wiser I have become very opinionated on a lot of subjects and will share them with you from time to time when I can't keep my mouth shut. Kathy Sinclair

3 comments on “The Start of Republicans

  1. The original political types that most resembled our modern-day Rethugs were called “Tories.” They were richer than all get out, supported The King of England with all their zeal, opposed the rabble rousers who wanted to start a Revolutionary War in America and once the war did begin as many of them as could do it gathered up their riches and fled to the safety of Canada for the duration. I hope this kind of fixes the mis-information from the – – – Pundit that was mentioned.

    • Thanks for the input John. Your comment makes me want to dig into the history of our political parties and the country for myself. Seems like there is a lot of behind the scenes history that’s pretty interesting.

Leave a Reply

